Recent Changes - Search:

EPOS-N - European Plate Observing System

Projects 2020

Projects 2019

Seismometers / vault construction



Stations: Upgrade/install notes



Ideas for improvements

Installation / Inventory


edit SideBar

Last update: February 17, 2020, at 01:26 PM
Version: pmwiki-2.2.126


      Jan Mayen 2012-13: Seismometer upgrade    

                     Project documentation

21 March 2014


Locations of four seismic stations on Jan Mayen.
Location of four seismic stations on Jan Mayen.


There are four seismic stations on the Jan Mayen island. Three are part of the Norwegian National Seismic Network (NNSN) and one is operated by Norsar as part of the monitoring regime in the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (preparatory commission).

The first seismometer was installed around 1961 near Olonkin City. The two remote sites ULLA (designated "JNE") and LIBERG ("JNW") were added in 1972, and the CTBT station ("JMIC") came in 2002.

The three first seismometers were installed to monitor seismic activity related to the Beerenberg volcano. To provide accurate location of epicenters a certain number of sensors are needed; they must also be sensitive enough to pick up any increase in the occurrence of low-magnitude earthquakes that are likely to precede an eruption. The seismometers will also aid in evaluation of the situation during and after an eruption.

Periodic maintenance is performed by the staff on the Jan Mayen combined Loran-C / meteorological station; personnel from Department of Earth Science, University of Bergen, will normally visit the stations once every year for other types of maintenance (i.e. component or software upgrades). Power to ULLA and LIBERG stations is provided by a combined wind turbine and solar panel system. We consider replacing existing wind turbines - which requires extensive maintenance due to the harsh climate with severe storms and high salinity - with modern vertical turbines which are more robust (see below).

The main purpose of this web page is to document modifications that are made during 2012-13 upgarde. It also outlines possible future design changes, but as no formal decisions have been made in this regard - it must not be viewed as a policy document stating NNSN commitments.


2.1 Current status, 1 February 2013

  • JMI/Trolldalen
    • New modem installed. Telemetry link should now be without data gaps, which were a problem with the first modem type we used.
    • New strong motion sensor (accelerometer) installed.

2.2 Before 2012 modifications

System diagram University of Bergen seismology network Jan Mayen - before 2012 modifications.
System diagram University of Bergen seismology network Jan Mayen - before 2012 modifications. (Drawing: O.M., Excel file)

2.3 Overall signal flow diagram, 2013

Jan Mayen UiB seismometer signal flow diagram. Click to download PDF version.
Jan Mayen UiB seismometer signal flow diagram. Click to download PDF version.

2.4 Wiring diagrams, JMI/Trolldalen & Seismo room

Click to open wiring diagram: UIB_GEO_NNSN_JAN_MAYEN_JMI_2012_10_001_A.pdf

2.5 JMI / Trolldalen

JMI Trolldalen photo album
Click to see JMI / Trolldalen photos, from August 2012

26 Aug 2012: New GPS coordinates: 70.926825N, 8.726678W

Click to see JMI/Trolldalen "As Built" documentation

2.6 JNE / Ulla

Click to see photo album
Click to see JNE Ulla photos, August 2012
Block diagram JNE Ulla
Block diagram JNE Ulla.

2.7 JNW (Liberg)

Click to see photo album
Click to see JNW Liberg photos, August 2012
Block diagram JNW Liberg
Block diagram JNW Liberg.

2.8 Instrument room

Click to see photo album
Click to see seismo room photos, August 2012


Four programs are used for collecting, processing and forwarding data.

3.1 NNSN Seislog

Seislog collects data from the Güralp DM24 digitizer that is located in Seismo room at base. It handles:

  • ULLA (JNE) data, received via VHF link
  • LIBERG (JNW) data, also received via VHF link
  • Trolldalen (JMI) backup sensor - the old vertical S-13 seismometer is still kept.

3.2 Güralp SCREAM!

The Güralp SCREAM! software receives serial data from the remote digitizer, via telemetry line.

3.3 Earthworm

The Earthworm software receives data streams from Ulla (JNE), Liberg (JNW) and Trolldalen (JMI) Trolldalen data comprises three components from Trillium broadband seismometer, and vertical Z-channel from old S-13 model seismometer (used as backup).


SWARM screenshot - click to see full size version from Alaska Volcano Observatory.

Web page first version

Edit - History - Print - Search
Page last modified on November 21, 2016, at 10:48 AM
Electronics workshop
Department of Earth Science - University of Bergen